I’m writing about this topic because I’ve seen some mind frames specific to the two categories: Employer vs. Employee. Below I will list 4 differences.

I remember the time when I would go to interviews – the mentality of someone under pressure to achieve excellence – as well as the entire time I was an employee, the problems I dealt with and my emotional response to them. One of the big differences between who I was back then and who I am now is the perspective and the manner in which we grant importance to certain aspects.

Difference #1: THE EMOTIONAL RESPONSE

More clearly, the emotional response in relation to the importance of the stimulus.

For instance, when I was an employee I would get very upset when I couldn’t find in the computer the files I needed and I considered that it was my employer’s duty to leave a note on the desktop telling me exactly how to get to one document or another. I would get upset if one of the clients decided to postpone the course. I didn’t realise that there were objective reasons and major emergencies for the decision and I didn’t understand that it was more important to keep the relationship with the client – a long-term vision – rather than cash in the money – a short-term and disadvantageous vision. Minor issues would be of the utmost importance for me.

Difference #2: THE LOCUS OF CONTROL

The locus of control is a generalised expectation (Rotter, 1966) concerning the possibility of reaching the desired aims and goals. It is the extent to which an individual assigns either an external causality (environmental factors) or an internal causality (personal decisions) to their behaviour.

Source: http://www.101teluri.ro/2010/11/locus-de-control/

See my article on this topic: The locus of control

 

As an employee my outlook was always oriented towards the exterior – towards whoever seemed to be able to make my life easier or more difficult. It didn’t even cross my mind that I CAN BE THE ENGINE of what’s happening or that I CAN CHOOSE MY OWN ANSWERS.

 

Difference #3: THE VISION

Employers are constantly looking for means of creating a working environment as favourable as possible: catering, team-buildings, Christmas presents and so on.

The employers are the ones who have the overall view of the business, the direction where it’s heading and the most important actions to be carried out in relation to the goals.  If the company is financially successful, all the employees are satisfied; if the resources are not properly allotted, everyone risks losing their jobs.

The things you see and feel as an employer in the training domain are that you are basically adopting someone whose taxes you’re going to pay. For a net salary of 1,000 lei the company pays around 800 lei to the state for all the taxes belonging to both the employee as well as the employer: health insurance, pension, unemployment benefit, income tax, social security. There are so many taxes and all of them are rather high, Romania being one of the European “champions” from this point of view, despite the unique and rather low income.

So, you adopt a person whom you develop professionally and personally through trainings and courses, to whom you offer access to various social interactions at the highest level, to whom you provide a FUN environment. I, as an employee, have never seen all these.

As an employer you see the company as both a community and an ecosystem.

All I saw was: postponed courses for which I obviously wasn’t paid and for which I would have wanted to receive some money from the company anyway (meaning I wanted a bigger salary than the money I brought to the company, without being aware of the huge taxes they were paying for me apart from my salary), very stressful meeting for professional development, boring planning meetings, colleagues who would train me and who considered themselves superior because of this – a completely delusional perception – team-buildings during which I would have preferred to stay in my room and read peacefully.

As an employee I saw the company both as a machine and a battlefield.

 

Difference #4: VISION, MISSION, VALUES

As an employer you’ve reached a level of maturity where you see the absolute necessity of internal procedures by means of which you can define both the direction and the manner of interaction with clients.

You define your values, your mission and your vision through strenuous work until you end up having a unitary vision; then you strive to inspire your employees having all these as guidelines: the company’s vision, mission and values. The aim is to create a feeling of unity, as well as efficient and quality working standards.

My motivation stems from the mission I have adopted of promoting my vision and my values concerning communication.

As an employee you are in full process of assimilating the optimal behaviour in accordance with these three elements and it can take quite a while. You are focused on immediate activities that are very time-consuming, sometimes to the detriment of your personal happiness. An employer knows that if you’re not happy at home you’re not happy at work either. An employer will ask you to calculate your efforts and prioritise your activities. But as an employee you’re motivated by the fear of having your boss constantly on your back – so you work overtime for fear of losing your job or not getting your salary on time.

Your motivation stems from fear.

Whether we are employees or employers, it’s good to realise that the job is not a necessary evil crowned with resentment towards our oppressors (whether they are our superiors or just unamenable colleagues), but rather a place where you feel good, where you learn and develop and gain an overall view of what a specific job means in the context of our professional evolution. As an employee, if you receive a position as trainer within a training company you should understand that it’s a position that may re-launch your entire career and lead you to where many other managers dream of getting.

Learn to see the advantages.

For professional development courses visit http://www.accesis.ro.

 

Translated by my dear colleague, Diana Ilie.

